Yacht and Boat Hire for the Whitsundays and Hamilton Island

Development

The Cumberland team are committed to delivering best-in-class experiences for in the stunning surroundings that we’re lucky to call home. Based in the Whitsundays, our services gives customers the chance to cruise around 74 islands, including the infamous Hamilton Island, to see the true, iconic beauty that the region is known for.

Hire a vessel and get going – choose from catamarans, yachts and more

With over 40 anchorage spots to choose from and a complete fleet comprising of yachts, catamaran and various boats to hire, we have a number of options to suit each occasion. Best of all, our team have a collective 30 years’ experience within the industry, allowing us to share both an insight and knowledge into the very best of a boating experience.

All of our vessels are fully-equipped with all the luxuries and facilities that you require, allowing you and your good company to enjoy a peace of mind, comfort and convenience.

Unforgettable beauty

There’s a lot to see around Hamilton Island and the Whitsundays that will more than create ever-lasting memories. With flawless environments, pristine waters and some of the very best in tourist destinations, each cruise around the region offers impressions that won’t quickly be forgotten. It’s with this at the forefront of our business that we continue to offer our customers tailor-made experiences with flexible boat, catamaran and yacht hire.

Read what our customers have to say about their time with Cumberland, below.

Most Recent:
Jan - GYMEA, NSW AUSTRALIA
21 Jul 2017
Seawind 1000xl
Mintaka

Chartered: 09 Jul 2017


Smooth sailing from start to finish - Cumberland Charter Yachts made the process easy, allowing us to focus on our holiday!

Phill - Jerrabomberra, NSW AUSTRALIA
20 Jul 2017
Lightwave 38 Sail
Fluffy Muffy

Chartered: 09 Jul 2017


We have just had an absolutely wonderful weeks charter on Fluffy Muffy. Cumberland Charter Yachts was brilliant, couldn't have been more helpful. The bareboat was immaculate and the briefing and orientation exactly what we needed to get off on the right foot. I could not recommend them, the boat and sailing the Whitsundays more highly.



See all the pictures!
Lauren - BEACONSFIELD, VIC
14 Jul 2017
Voyager 1040
Finnigan

Chartered: 28 Jun 2017


Something that should be on your bucket list! Cumberland Charter Yachts made everything so easy, allowing us to concentrate on our brilliant charter holiday.

See all the pictures!
Justin - , QUEENSLAND
14 Jul 2017
Perry 43 3 Cabin
Mango Tango

Chartered: 30 Jun 2017


Excellent holiday. Cumberland Charter Yachts was very helpful from the beginning to the end. The bareboat was in excellent condition and their charter briefing made us very comfortable taking the boat out for nearly a week. It is a great family holiday getting away from all the normal day to day distractions, in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. It was hard to find any fault with Cumberland Charter Yachts.

See all the pictures!
Kaye - COLLAROY PLATEAU, NSW AUSTRALIA
14 Jul 2017
Latitude 1035
Latitude Lady

Chartered: 02 Jul 2017


Cumberland Charter Yachts were recommended to us by friends who had sailed the Whitsundays a few times. Although they had not used CCY they were planning to on their next return as they could see they excelled in service over other Charter Companies. Which is exactly what we experienced. In the lead-up and during our Charter everyone we dealt with treated us with personalised service.

We chartered Latitude Lady who exceeded our expectations in comfort, even down to loads of pillows. She was easy to sail and suited our family of 4 perfectly. Thank you.

See all the pictures!
Mal - HELENSVALE, QLD AUSTRALIA
04 Jul 2017
Voyager 1040
Finnigan

Chartered: 19 Jun 2017


Whitsundays Cruising
We had a great time on a Motor catamaran named "Finnigan". The team at Cumberland Charter Yachts were amazing. Very friendly, patient and client centric. Had a week and were not disappointed

See all the pictures!
Wayne - SOUTHPORT, QLD AUS
04 Jul 2017
Beneteau 34
Trinity Reign

Chartered: 17 Jun 2017


We chartered our sailing yacht, Trinity Reign, from Cumberland Charter Yachts right in the Abell Point Marina. Our initial dealings were on the phone from home and the majority of the paperwork and questions were easily handled prior to our bareboat holiday. Once in Airlie, we popped in to say hello and any other questions were answered with ease and reassurance. We left feeling very excited for our adventure the following morning. There was a thorough review of regulations and features of our yacht before we set off for ourselves. Trinity Reign is a 34-foot Beneteau which was comfortable enough for just the two of us even though it has two bedrooms onboard. We needed the extra room for our luggage, snorkeling gear etc. Not being the sailor in the family, I needed to stay in the fresh air as much as possible so sitting in the cabin whilst sailing was not an option. The boat had everything you need for a great few days of exploring this wonderful area but check in first regarding fishing, snorkeling and any extra gear you may want. We had no problems sailing or mooring and on our return, we were met by a Cumberland rep who hopped on board and took over the refueling and docking in the marina for us. I would recommend Cumberland to anyone thinking of hiring a yacht for a few days as they were there every day on the radio and could offer advice as to weather patterns and sheltered areas to anchor for the night. We were blessed with some extraordinary sunsets and even saw a couple of sunrises during our a few days away. If you need a break from everything then see Cumberland and ask as many questions as you like. If you are traveling with others then be selective as to the yacht you wish to hire as I found physical space onboard a priority. Then relax and enjoy as chartering a yacht and sailing into the blue yonder was relaxing and exciting at the same time for us.


See all the pictures!
Georgina - ,
04 Jul 2017
Great service, excellent yacht condition. Owner Terry's life skills and competence in sailing, he took us through the Dehler 34 and answered our questions. Go the assisted option if not confident in skills the area as it requires sound knowledge in weather and navigation. Most of our anchorages had swell if sea sickness is your thing be prepared. Area well worth exploring. Highly recommended Cumberland Charter Yacht's services.

See all the pictures!
Marc - , WA AUSTRALIA
04 Jul 2017
Dehler 34
Treasure

Chartered: 15 May 2017


My partner Pam and I decided to charter a yacht around the Whitsundays to celebrate my 50th birthday and looked forward to a relaxing time which is exactly what we did.

We found Cumberland Charter Yachts very helpful and professional with the initial booking process, answering our questions and returning our calls promptly. We decided on "Treasure', a Dehler 34 single hull for a 10-day trip. 'Treasure' was perfect for our needs - with only two of us on board it was just the right size and had ample storage space with the aft cabin being used for luggage. We were given a comprehensive briefing at the marina before departing and everything worked well.

We enjoyed each day snorkeling, bush walking, and sailing at different locations around the Whitsunday Islands. 'Treasure' was easy to maneuver around the bays and very economical with fuel. At one point we had a battery issue which was promptly attended to by Cumberland staff at Hamilton Island marina while we explored the island.

The daily radio check-ins were a good source of support and the staff provided useful advice and information.

We would definitely recommend 'Treasure' and Cumberland Charter Yachts to anyone considering a similar bareboating trip and we look forward to another charter sometime soon!.

See all the pictures!
Wayne - Coniston, NSW AUSTRALIA
04 Jul 2017
Seawind 1000xl
Mintaka

Chartered: 28 May 2017


Five of us had a great week on the Sailing Catamaran "Mintaka". Although we had little sailing experience, the detailed briefing, and sailing instruction before we set off gave us the confidence to handle this 35 ft Cat. I have had many years experience with handling boats but the rest of the crew were novices, by the end of the first day we were sailing with confidence. The Cumberland Charter Yachts people we dealt with were all enthusiastic and helpful, I would definitely use this Bareboat company again.

See all the pictures!
Richard - CURRUMBIN VALLEY, QUEENSLAND AUSTRALIA
04 Jul 2017
Dehler 34
Treasure

Chartered: 18 Jun 2017


Cumberland Charter Yachts was helpful at every stage of the booking. By the time we set sail we had no queries, such is the comprehensive volume of information on their website. The yacht was fantastic ("Treasure VI"), clean and well looked after. CCY took every step to ensure our bareboat charter was running smoothly; great for advice on anchorages and routes along the way. Even though this area was severely damaged by Cyclone Debbie it was just as interesting to see the effects. And impressive to see the local economy functioning near normal so quickly. The Whitsundays is truly a world class attraction and Cumberland Charter Yachts did the best to make sure our charter experience was fantastic.

See all the pictures!
Katie - NEWTOWN, TAS AUSTRALIA
25 Jun 2017
Beneteau 34
Trinity Reign

Chartered: 03 Jun 2017


Thank you Cumberland crew for an amazing experience onboard Trinity Reign. Had a great 8 days sailing and exploring the Islands!

See all the pictures!
Michael - PADDINGTON, QUEENSLAND AUSTRALIA
02 Jun 2017
Seawind 1000
Kick N Back

Chartered: 02 May 2017


We had an amazing week on Kick N Back! There is simply no better experience than expoloring the Whitsundays at your own pace. All of the staff at Cumberland Charter Yachts were so friendly and helpful, we couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon!

We will definitely be back!

See all the pictures!
Dan - MELBOURNE, VICTORIA AUSTRALIA
24 May 2017
Seawind 1160 Lite
Happy Hour

Chartered: 16 Apr 2017


A very professional team who went out of their way to arrange an alternative charter vessel following  Ex-Cyclone Debbie. The yacht was very well presented.
Highly recommended Cumberland Charter Yachts!!

See all the pictures!
Michelle - ,
24 May 2017
Perry 44.5p
Cumberland Majical

Chartered: 20 May 2017


We had a fantastic trip cruising around the Whitsundays on board "Cumberland Magical."
The first night of charter we came to a mooring in Stonehaven and moored right in front of a waterfall cascading down into the ocean. I mean come on! how amazing is that!
The next day we cruised down the western side of the Whitsunday island and slowly made our way to Hamilton island for the second night, during the day we saw dolphins and spent the day enjoying the natural beauty.

On the next day, we made our way through the Hook passage and then down the eastern side of the island to Whitehaven beach where we spent the day on the white sandy shores and soaking up some more sun.
Then returning back through the passage to Nara inlet where we found another waterfall!!
This had to be the highlight of the trip for me as sailing into the inlet felt like we were cruising through ancient fiords with high mountains surrounding us on both sides.
We spent the night there and it was our best nights sleep as it was glass still because of the protection from the wind.

The weather for the trip was pretty good, a couple showers here and there and some random strong gust of wind when at anchor but overall we expected as much from the forecasts.

Our bareboat was perfect for driving and had lots of space for the 9 of us plus all our gear. Cumberland Charter Yachts was very professional and great to deal with. Giving us a detailed brief before hand and lot of good advice and info to get us going.

We have already begun plans to return again to charter and would highly recommend this to anyone who is interested.



See all the pictures!
Carson - BERLIN, GERMANY
18 May 2017
Aquila 44
Aquila Sunrise

Chartered: 07 Apr 2017


The team at Cumberland Charter Yachts were fantastic- especially so, given the Cyclone just 10 days prior. All was ready on time including provisioning, and we literally walked onto the Aquila 44 and cruised away for 4 nights. Skipper Tony had a great Aussie sense of humour and was lots of fun. Hostess Emma was excellent too, a great cook and full of fun and kindness for our kids. Both provided a very relaxed escape aboard the Aquila Sunrise. Thank you and hope to see you again soon!
CKs&SMj.

See all the pictures!
Roy - SHEFFIELD, SOUTH YORKSHIRE UK
11 May 2017
Beneteau 34
Trinity Reign

Chartered: 28 Apr 2017


Our family group chartered Trinity Reign, a 34 foot sailing monohull for a week at the end of May. Everyone we dealt with from Cumberland Charter Yachts was positive, helpful and totally committed to making our charter go well. The initial briefing was as thorough as it gets with loads of useful local information. Our only crisis was running out of gas when we needed a cup of tea - we are aged Brits after all! CCY resolved the issue promptly.

The water was warm but a bit cloudy after Cyclone Debbie but we still managed some snorkelling. Fairly strong SE winds and swell for most of the week limited use of the sails but Trinity Reign was well equipped. Butterfly bay, Nara inlet and Stonehaven bay were delightful.

See all the pictures!
Richard - NORTH MALENY, QLD
09 May 2017
Seawind 1160 Lite
Happy Hour

Chartered: 06 Mar 2017


The Sailing cat handled herself admirably and the staff were great. Provisions completed the day before with a sleep aboard. Overall a great week with good company. It is amazing how much food you can consume on the water and yes it included some wine. Would not recommend February due to the heat. Our next trip June / July.

See all the pictures!
Jenny - CARINGBAH, NSW AUSTRALIA
05 May 2017
Perry 43 4 Cabin
Stardust

Chartered: 25 Apr 2017


We all just loved Stardust and had the most wonderful time. We had the best weather and not having a phone, internet or TV and only a little bit of Radio made the week even more special. We are still pinching ourselves because the week went so perfectly. The Son-in-laws are already talking about taking their own families on a Whitsunday bareboat adventure now, they loved it so much. Thanks for all you support through our planning process. Hope to see you all again, and this time we won't leave it 10 years!



See all the pictures!
Tom - NEUTRAL BAY, NSW
04 May 2017
Voyager 1040
Finnigan

Chartered: 24 Apr 2017


Can I say on behalf of all of us how very impressed we were with Cumberland Charter Yachts and how much we enjoyed the whole charter experience?

The booking process was easy and all of our charter questions were handled in a professional but in a very friendly way.

Steve was great both on the main briefing and the long phone call we had with him the day before we flew to Airlie. Patient, helpful and totally understanding of both our concerns and our desire to get the cruising underway.

"Finnigan" was everything we hoped for in comfort & convenience and had all the equipment we needed for a terrific Bareboat holiday.

On our last day, we were very tempted to set a new heading for Vanuatu and head off to the horizon!!

Thanks to you all at Cumberland charter yachts for helping to turn the 4 of us into committed boaties.

See all the pictures!
Christian - KANGAROO POINT, QLD
30 Mar 2017
Perry 43 4 Cabin
Stardust

Chartered: 15 Dec 2016


Detailed induction, nice catamaran, beautiful anchorages - we had a blast!

See all the pictures!
Stan - HORSFIELD BAY, NEW SOUTH WALES AUSTRALIA
15 Mar 2017
Beneteau 43
Olivetta

Chartered: 04 Mar 2017


Thank you for the planning, attention to detail and assistance that helped to make our Charter holiday on Olivetta such a great one. The Sailing boat was great, sailed well and we felt at home from the start. We were all sad to see the entrance of the marina on our last day but we have a lot of great memories and a few extra kilos, having a chef on board help with the intake of great meals even when we thought the fridge was empty.
We have some work to do now to shed these kilos before winter adds to them.
Our overnight at Stonehaven was made so special with the visit from the local turtle giving us some great photo opportunities and the thrill of being up-close with such a special creature.  
We are looking forward to our next time up there with you guys.


See all the pictures!
Bruce - CLONTARF BEACH, QLD AUSTRALIA
09 Mar 2017
Beneteau 323
Lazyitis

Chartered: 06 Sep 2016


Dear CCY Staff.
We have to apologise for the lengthy delay in sending you our review, however, we want you to know how much we enjoyed the week we spent on Sailing Monohull Lazyitis last September. The weather was not the best with us, waking up to rain every morning. We would be then sailing to our next anchorage in some fairly challenging weather, however, each day around lunch the clouds would part and the sun would appear usually around the time of us reaching our destination. We would then have the most magical afternoons and evenings.

Due to the fairly constant prevailing winds at the time we didn't get to a lot of anchorages that we would have liked, staying mainly in the leeward and more sheltered sides of Hook and Whitsunday Islands.  Having said that, we now know that we will be back for another holiday. It was one of the best holidays we have had for a long time. We now have a better understanding of the islands and feel that we would try and charter the same vessel again.

Cheers Bruce James and Pauline Holmes

P.S. Say hi to Terry. We will try and catch him at the Sailing Club for trivia night when we come back and have a beer with him.


See all the pictures!
Ian - LAMEROO, SOUTH AUSTRALIA
09 Mar 2017
Perry 44.5p
Cumberland Princess

Chartered: 24 Feb 2017


Good Evening
We have hit the ground running since being home from our trip, but we wanted to thank you for your customer service, hire of the charter boat and provisions.
During our bareboat trip, we didn't want for anything - everything was just excellent. Please pass on our thanks to the provisioning company as well.

Thank you for assisting us right through from hire to collect of the boat and return.
Cheers
Ian & Andy Maynard


See all the pictures!
Sherif - WEST PENNANT HILLS, NSW
05 Feb 2017
Lipari 41
Le Bon Reve

Chartered: 31 Dec 2016


An amazing group of people and an outstanding service at Cumberland Charter Yachts.

Strongly recommended

See all the pictures!
Kieron - GREENSBOROUGH, VIC
03 Feb 2017
Lightwave 38 Powercat
Charisma

Chartered: 18 Jan 2017


What a great experience and wonderful charter holiday. From the moment that we met the Cumberland Charter Yachts (CCY) skipper at Hamilton Island and was coached about the boat and sailing the Whitsundays we were off! It was so reassuring to get good training on use of the boat prior to heading out on our own - it's a nerve wrecking time driving someone else's beautiful boat.

We opted for a Power Cruiser that had air conditioning which made a big difference to the kids during the humid nights.

We got to see lots of marine life and particularly loved the area around Hayman Island for swimming and snorkelling. We caught our biggest ever GT (5kg) in Nara Inlet one morning as well as Red Emperor and Sucker Fish (the ones that suck to the big rays and dolphins) and a number of other fish that we couldn't identify.

The clock-in with CCY twice daily ensured that we were in safe hands and guided as to the best spots to see during the day and anchor up at night.

A wonderful bareboat experience and worth every $$. The only thing that I will change on our next CCY charter is to pick the boat up at Airlie Beach and to get our own provisions from a local supermarket - it's pretty costly doing it through a provisioning company (albeit that the quality of food was great)!

See all the pictures!
Doug - , AUSTRALIA
02 Feb 2017
Leopard 46
Seaduction

Chartered: 13 Jan 2017


The watery airwaves of the Whitsundays are awash with the nautical melodies of the bareboat fleets calling Fluffy Muffy, Seaduction, Double Play... liberating their daily plans for approval and sharing their adventures. After the superb guidance and instruction from Steve we safely piloted our fourth journey through the Whitsundays free to do as we pleased within the surveyed zone. Our sails filled during the day with the seasonal trade winds the barmy nights chilled by bubbly chardonnay and the air-conditioned luxuriant accommodations of our Leopard 46. The alfresco area of the vessel is shared with the short hand cockpit which was easily manned by my 16 year old son Harrison. At night our rod tips touched the water as the surrounding seas foamed with bait fish and schools of larger predators. I have never seen fishing this good. The generous galley was easily accessible with 3 fridges, microwave... all bar a dishwasher. All the 4 main Queen cabins were equipped with their own shower and toilet, additionally the vessel had a forward skippers cabin equally equipped. Its rare to find such protected natural beauty such as the water ways of the Whitsundays what is exceptionally special is that CCY allows you to enjoy those surrounds while enjoying the luxury comforts, privacy and safety of their yachts. A truly exceptional experience.

See all the pictures!
Mark - SIPPY DOWNS, QLD AUSTRALIA
02 Feb 2017
Perry 44.5p
Cumberland Majical

Chartered: 06 Jan 2017


We have visited the Great Barrier Reef in the past and enjoyed the group snorkeling but it comes no where near the charter vacation we had with our Cumberland Charter Yachts. Even poor weather for a few days did not take away from all the great activities and touring. Being able to pull up to just about any cove or bay and go for a swim and snorkel was great!
The team at CCY were excellent every step of the way. They were helpful leading up to the trip as we planned and prepared for our first experience captaining a boat and Bareboat charter. The briefing as we started our charter and the support over our 9 days were perfect and made us feel comfortable even with our limited experience.
The Motor Catamaran was great and had every thing we needed to enjoy our vacation including tonnes of space for our crew of seven (including 3 pre-teen/teenage boys).
This was one of our best vacations as a family and hope we can get back out again soon.

See all the pictures!
Axel - BEACONHILL, NSW AUSTRALIA
02 Feb 2017
Seawind 1000xl
Mintaka

Chartered: 10 Jan 2017


These were amazing charter holidays in the Whitsundays for all the family (8 of us). We rented Mintaka for 6 days 5 nights, a 35 footer sailing cat. 5 hour brief with a sailing guide who sailed with us for short time before leaving us with all the fun.
We didn't carry any boating license but just some reasonable experience and just say the experience was amazing.
Great space on deck, great navigation tools and equipment. BBQ, full sorted kitchen and 4 berths..
We came a bit tight to get the shuttle back and they've sorted the petrol etc. Also we forgot a few items in the boat and they couriered them to us to Syd.
Absolutely to recommend !!

See all the pictures!
Alexander - LAPEROUSE, NEW SOUTH WALES AUSTRALIA
31 Jan 2017
Beneteau 34
Trinity Reign

Chartered: 31 Dec 2016


We had an 8 day yacht charter over new years. The entire team at cumberland yacht charters were extremely friendly and helpful from when we started looking to book a yacht to well after we had left. They were professional during the briefing and made sure our trip was going to be a success and gave us plenty of tips of places to visit. When our flights were cancelled, the team at cumberland crew went well beyond what was required to take care of us. We will be returning and using cumberland yachts.

The yacht was perfect for the 4 of us (two couples) and can highly recommend it to anyone else.

Our favourite snorkelling place was at Cateran Bay and stopping off at Hamilton Island was definitely worth it.

See all the pictures!