Yacht and Boat Hire for the Whitsundays and Hamilton Island

Development

The Cumberland team are committed to delivering best-in-class experiences for in the stunning surroundings that we’re lucky to call home. Based in the Whitsundays, our services gives customers the chance to cruise around 74 islands, including the infamous Hamilton Island, to see the true, iconic beauty that the region is known for.

Hire a vessel and get going – choose from catamarans, yachts and more

With over 40 anchorage spots to choose from and a complete fleet comprising of yachts, catamaran and various boats to hire, we have a number of options to suit each occasion. Best of all, our team have a collective 30 years’ experience within the industry, allowing us to share both an insight and knowledge into the very best of a boating experience.

All of our vessels are fully-equipped with all the luxuries and facilities that you require, allowing you and your good company to enjoy a peace of mind, comfort and convenience.

Unforgettable beauty

There’s a lot to see around Hamilton Island and the Whitsundays that will more than create ever-lasting memories. With flawless environments, pristine waters and some of the very best in tourist destinations, each cruise around the region offers impressions that won’t quickly be forgotten. It’s with this at the forefront of our business that we continue to offer our customers tailor-made experiences with flexible boat, catamaran and yacht hire.

Read what our customers have to say about their time with Cumberland, below.

Most Recent:
Stan - HORSFIELD BAY, NEW SOUTH WALES AUSTRALIA
15 Mar 2017
Beneteau 43
Olivetta

Chartered: 04 Mar 2017


Thank you for the planning, attention to detail and assistance that helped to make our Charter holiday on Olivetta such a great one. The Sailing boat was great, sailed well and we felt at home from the start. We were all sad to see the entrance of the marina on our last day but we have a lot of great memories and a few extra kilos, having a chef on board help with the intake of great meals even when we thought the fridge was empty.
We have some work to do now to shed these kilos before winter adds to them.
Our overnight at Stonehaven was made so special with the visit from the local turtle giving us some great photo opportunities and the thrill of being up-close with such a special creature.  
We are looking forward to our next time up there with you guys.


Bruce - CLONTARF BEACH, QLD AUSTRALIA
09 Mar 2017
Beneteau 323
Lazyitis

Chartered: 06 Sep 2016


Dear CCY Staff.
We have to apologise for the lengthy delay in sending you our review, however, we want you to know how much we enjoyed the week we spent on Sailing Monohull Lazyitis last September. The weather was not the best with us, waking up to rain every morning. We would be then sailing to our next anchorage in some fairly challenging weather, however, each day around lunch the clouds would part and the sun would appear usually around the time of us reaching our destination. We would then have the most magical afternoons and evenings.

Due to the fairly constant prevailing winds at the time we didn't get to a lot of anchorages that we would have liked, staying mainly in the leeward and more sheltered sides of Hook and Whitsunday Islands.  Having said that, we now know that we will be back for another holiday. It was one of the best holidays we have had for a long time. We now have a better understanding of the islands and feel that we would try and charter the same vessel again.

Cheers Bruce James and Pauline Holmes

P.S. Say hi to Terry. We will try and catch him at the Sailing Club for trivia night when we come back and have a beer with him.


See all the pictures!
Ian - LAMEROO, SOUTH AUSTRALIA
09 Mar 2017
Perry 44.5p
Cumberland Princess

Chartered: 24 Feb 2017


Good Evening
We have hit the ground running since being home from our trip, but we wanted to thank you for your customer service, hire of the charter boat and provisions.
During our bareboat trip, we didn't want for anything - everything was just excellent. Please pass on our thanks to the provisioning company as well.

Thank you for assisting us right through from hire to collect of the boat and return.
Cheers
Ian & Andy Maynard


See all the pictures!
Sherif - WEST PENNANT HILLS, NSW
05 Feb 2017
Lipari 41
Le Bon Reve

Chartered: 31 Dec 2016


An amazing group of people and an outstanding service at Cumberland Charter Yachts.

Strongly recommended

See all the pictures!
Kieron - GREENSBOROUGH, VIC
03 Feb 2017
Lightwave 38 Powercat
Charisma

Chartered: 18 Jan 2017


What a great experience and wonderful charter holiday. From the moment that we met the Cumberland Charter Yachts (CCY) skipper at Hamilton Island and was coached about the boat and sailing the Whitsundays we were off! It was so reassuring to get good training on use of the boat prior to heading out on our own - it's a nerve wrecking time driving someone else's beautiful boat.

We opted for a Power Cruiser that had air conditioning which made a big difference to the kids during the humid nights.

We got to see lots of marine life and particularly loved the area around Hayman Island for swimming and snorkelling. We caught our biggest ever GT (5kg) in Nara Inlet one morning as well as Red Emperor and Sucker Fish (the ones that suck to the big rays and dolphins) and a number of other fish that we couldn't identify.

The clock-in with CCY twice daily ensured that we were in safe hands and guided as to the best spots to see during the day and anchor up at night.

A wonderful bareboat experience and worth every $$. The only thing that I will change on our next CCY charter is to pick the boat up at Airlie Beach and to get our own provisions from a local supermarket - it's pretty costly doing it through a provisioning company (albeit that the quality of food was great)!

See all the pictures!
Axel - BEACONHILL, NSW AUSTRALIA
02 Feb 2017
Seawind 1000xl
Mintaka

Chartered: 10 Jan 2017


These were amazing charter holidays in the Whitsundays for all the family (8 of us). We rented Mintaka for 6 days 5 nights, a 35 footer sailing cat. 5 hour brief with a sailing guide who sailed with us for short time before leaving us with all the fun.
We didn't carry any boating license but just some reasonable experience and just say the experience was amazing.
Great space on deck, great navigation tools and equipment. BBQ, full sorted kitchen and 4 berths..
We came a bit tight to get the shuttle back and they've sorted the petrol etc. Also we forgot a few items in the boat and they couriered them to us to Syd.
Absolutely to recommend !!

See all the pictures!
Doug - , AUSTRALIA
02 Feb 2017
Leopard 46
Seaduction

Chartered: 13 Jan 2017


The watery airwaves of the Whitsundays are awash with the nautical melodies of the bareboat fleets calling Fluffy Muffy, Seaduction, Double Play... liberating their daily plans for approval and sharing their adventures. After the superb guidance and instruction from Steve we safely piloted our fourth journey through the Whitsundays free to do as we pleased within the surveyed zone. Our sails filled during the day with the seasonal trade winds the barmy nights chilled by bubbly chardonnay and the air-conditioned luxuriant accommodations of our Leopard 46. The alfresco area of the vessel is shared with the short hand cockpit which was easily manned by my 16 year old son Harrison. At night our rod tips touched the water as the surrounding seas foamed with bait fish and schools of larger predators. I have never seen fishing this good. The generous galley was easily accessible with 3 fridges, microwave... all bar a dishwasher. All the 4 main Queen cabins were equipped with their own shower and toilet, additionally the vessel had a forward skippers cabin equally equipped. Its rare to find such protected natural beauty such as the water ways of the Whitsundays what is exceptionally special is that CCY allows you to enjoy those surrounds while enjoying the luxury comforts, privacy and safety of their yachts. A truly exceptional experience.

See all the pictures!
Mark - SIPPY DOWNS, QLD AUSTRALIA
02 Feb 2017
Perry 44.5p
Cumberland Majical

Chartered: 06 Jan 2017


We have visited the Great Barrier Reef in the past and enjoyed the group snorkeling but it comes no where near the charter vacation we had with our Cumberland Charter Yachts. Even poor weather for a few days did not take away from all the great activities and touring. Being able to pull up to just about any cove or bay and go for a swim and snorkel was great!
The team at CCY were excellent every step of the way. They were helpful leading up to the trip as we planned and prepared for our first experience captaining a boat and Bareboat charter. The briefing as we started our charter and the support over our 9 days were perfect and made us feel comfortable even with our limited experience.
The Motor Catamaran was great and had every thing we needed to enjoy our vacation including tonnes of space for our crew of seven (including 3 pre-teen/teenage boys).
This was one of our best vacations as a family and hope we can get back out again soon.

See all the pictures!
Alexander - LAPEROUSE, NEW SOUTH WALES AUSTRALIA
31 Jan 2017
Beneteau 34
Trinity Reign

Chartered: 31 Dec 2016


We had an 8 day yacht charter over new years. The entire team at cumberland yacht charters were extremely friendly and helpful from when we started looking to book a yacht to well after we had left. They were professional during the briefing and made sure our trip was going to be a success and gave us plenty of tips of places to visit. When our flights were cancelled, the team at cumberland crew went well beyond what was required to take care of us. We will be returning and using cumberland yachts.

The yacht was perfect for the 4 of us (two couples) and can highly recommend it to anyone else.

Our favourite snorkelling place was at Cateran Bay and stopping off at Hamilton Island was definitely worth it.

See all the pictures!
Darren - LANGWARRIN SOUTH, VICTORIA AUSTRALIA
20 Jan 2017
Beneteau 37
Little One

Chartered: 30 Nov 2016


Another perfect holiday sailing, weather was perfect everyday, favourite spots this time was Langford Island, Blue Pearl Bay, lots of marine life to be seen.

See all the pictures!
Rebecca - RIVERSTONE, NSW AUSTRALIA
31 Dec 2016
Perry 44.5p
Cumberland Princess

Chartered: 28 Dec 2016


My last experience with bareboat charters was 25 years ago just before my wedding.
We have been meaning to do it again..but family, school, and life intervened.
At last, with grown up kids (16 - 21) we finally made a date.
We decided on a power cat as we had no skills with, or interest in, furling sails. It was a great decision, as this was a most relaxing holiday : Wake up, cup of tea, consider the weather (always sunny) and pick a nice bay in which to snorkel.
What's not to like? SO SO relaxing.
The Motor Catamaran (Cumberland Princess) was good for 8 (our family plus three young friends). Couldn't fault the facilities, but you must know that this is really camping in style (with good amenities).
We hired two kayaks and a stand-up paddle board, and all were use regularly. You must get stinger suits in December. Snorkelling is a daily activity.
We didn't want for anything. The fridge and freezer space was relatively generous, so we managed to self-cater with ease.
The thing we loved the most (apart from the snorkelling) - the wheel-house, which was well covered from the sun, and was a nice retreat from the main cabin.
We will ABSOLUTELY plan another bareboat charter with Cumberland. They were fabulous to deal with, even so far as sending us a few forgotten items after we disembarked.
WONDERFUL !

See all the pictures!
Wayne - COCKLE BAY, AUCKLAND NEW ZEALAND
28 Dec 2016
Highland 35
Cumberland Fling

Chartered: 29 Oct 2016


We cruised for 6 nights on Cumberland Fling - 35 foot Fountaine Pajot Catamaran with 2 Adults and 2 kids 12 & 13 yrs old.
Everything was as we booked, even the weather was picture perfect.
The boat was very clean and equipped with everything we needed and we just loved the big wide space of the catamaran. It was a perfect size for us, we even had a cabin each, so space was generous.
We loved the remoteness and ability to navigate where ever we wished around the islands. It was total freedom for us all. The daily reporting was easy and we enjoyed this as it was our only contact with the mainland.
If you have a desire to cruise the islands this is a holiday experience you will not regret and we can recommend the Team at CCY - they know what you need before you ask for it.
We are now thinking, when we can go again... hopefully on the same boat.


See all the pictures!
Geoff - ,
06 Dec 2016
Beneteau 37
Little One

Chartered: 20 Nov 2016


We had a great week in the Whitsundays sailing, snorkeling, swimming and bush walking. Just the two of us. Only way to go.

See all the pictures!
Ian - YAROOMBA, QLD AUSTRALIA
06 Dec 2016
Seawind 1000xl
Mintaka

Chartered: 11 Nov 2016


Excellent pre arrival, arrival brief, nice boat, nice de-brief. Second time we have used Cumberland Charter Yachts and will definitely use them again.

See all the pictures!
Linda - ,
06 Dec 2016
Lightwave 38 Sail
Fluffy Muffy

Chartered: 03 Nov 2016


I thought it was all really great. The Bareboat cruising grounds were amazing, The Sailing Catamaran was in good condition and had everything we needed. Customer care was good. Definitely recommend CCY to others in future.

See all the pictures!
Graeme - MT COTTON, QLD AUSTRALIA
06 Dec 2016
Voyager 1040
Finnigan

Chartered: 07 Nov 2016


This is our third Power bareboat charter and by far the best. Everything we were promised was ready and the customer service was without exception excellent, we would recommend Cumberland Charter Yachts as the best company to deal with.
7 nights cruising around the Whitsundays was a blast and we are already planning our next trip. Regardless of the weather you can always find a good anchorage even in a thunderstorm.

See all the pictures!
Paul - BRIGHTON, VIC AUSTRALIA
06 Dec 2016
Lightwave 38 Powercat
Charisma

Chartered: 29 Oct 2016


This was the second time we have chartered a boat from Cumberland Charter Yachts and we have re-booked again for same time in 2017. We love the isolation and ability to cruise the Islands and anchor anywhere that takes our fancy. Best Boating holiday you can imagine and right on our door step.

See all the pictures!
Ghiulnur - 925300, ROMANIA
06 Dec 2016
Leopard 38
Mary Ann

Chartered: 20 Nov 2016


We have cruised with Cumberland Charter Yachts for 4 nights, the boat name was Leopard 38, It was a Sailing Catamaran, enough for 6 people. Our skipper name was Mark, and he was very good at this work. We were not prepared before going about the itinerary however Mark just arranged a wonderful itinerary. The company is very professional, and they helped us a lot before deciding on each detail. We have traveled with 2 kids, 2 and 4 years old, which was challenging for us however they helped us to make this trip as easy as possible . We have talking for almost 4 months before we went, and I guess I have sent more then 40 e-mails with several questions on each, they were just answering on time, without getting bored of my each small question. So really thank for their effort and professionalism. It was just a great experience

See all the pictures!
Ruth - RENWICK, NSW
06 Dec 2016
Beneteau 34
Trinity Reign

Chartered: 22 Nov 2016


Between my husband and I, we have travelled a lot of the world, seen many amazing sights and had our passports stamped. For our honeymoon we decided to stay in Australia and we are so glad we did.
After seeking out Cumberland, from the first email they were, efficient, professional, friendly and couldn't do enough to help you.
My husband is proficient at sailing a Navy Destroyer...but our experience with a little 34 footer is very limited. If you every worry you can't do it, don't, because you can and you will, and you will love every second of what these beautiful Whitsunday Islands have to offer.
We did a 10 night trip, just the 2 of us. We considered using the provisioning, but ended up buying our own food. It worked out cheaper for us, and we even over bought. Half way through the trip we stopped at Hamilton Island for 2 night, we were very daunted about getting into the Marina, but the guys there were incredible.
We did have a couple of rocky nights, we did hit a bumpy swell, and we didn't have the best of luck with a tail wind for the sail!! But we were so happy just see what this amazing country has to offer, without rushing. Every day the guys on the radio were there to help you out, give advice on winds and placed for you to go.
When we got back to Abell Point Marina, our debrief will Hiliyer was awesome, he fuelled us up, took our rubbish, said leave all your leftover food, we will give it to charity. Nothing was a problem.
We can't express how much this experience has blown us away. We now want to come back with our 7 year old, who we are sure will be on constant Turtle watch!
We would recommend CCY to anyone and everyone. A fantastic, professional, friendly, efficient and wonderful group of people. We hope to see you all again in 2107!!

See all the pictures!
Brian & Lin - TWIN WATERS, QLD
29 Nov 2016
Lagoon 40
Whitsunday Dreaming

Chartered: 10 Nov 2016


Having had years of enjoyment sailing Cumberland's Seawind 1160's we finally decided to try the new Lagoon 40 power catamaran, Whitsunday Dreaming, and we were not disappointed.
Dreaming is designed to a very high spec and finished to an equally high standard with many thoughtful extras. "Galley-up" makes for more cabin/heads space below and less room in the saloon, however the cockpit living/dining set up more than compensates for this. Her helming station is comfortable, efficient and sociable being very much part of the cockpit .
The cabins are larger than average and the ensuites though compact, work well. We did feel that 10 people - probably including children - would be somewhat 'cosy', but that is a subjective view, the vessel is certainly equipped for that number.
At first glance we wondered if the galley storage space would be enough, but appearances are deceptive. When we got organised we found that in fact there is ample room though a long arm would help with a couple of the cupboards. One thing to note, two fridges mean ample cold storage but freezer space is at a premium, so perhaps shopping a little differently is called for.There is a deck Esky requiring ice, maybe down the track Cumberland could consider making it powered if possible?
Dreaming is a lovely vessel and generally looked after us like a lady, but all boats, even new ones, are quirky things and hiccups are not uncommon - just listen to the Skeds. What matters then is the support and help from the Company and over the years we have found Cumberland exemplary in this department which is very reassuring to know.
To sum up, would we charter Dreaming again? Yes most certainly and probably will. This level of luxury in a charter vessel is exceptional and not cheap, but for the lovely holiday experience she offers well worth it. We do still sail our modest monohull at home in Mooloolaba but from now on we are converted to Power for our Whitsundays catamaran 'fix'.

See all the pictures!
Shane - TEKOWHAI, NEW ZEALAND
29 Nov 2016
Leopard 46
Seaduction

Chartered: 08 Oct 2016


We had been hanging out to go sailing holiday for a while and with the kids (5&7) getting an it older a bareboat charter seemed like a great option! We hired the Leopard 46 "Seaduction",  and she was perfect for our Sailing holiday, plenty of space and very well appointed. The team at Cumberland Charter Yachts made the experience very easy and spent 7 days in some of the most gorgeous bays. The snorkelling was spectacular, Whitehaven beach was glorious and overnighting in Nara inlet were particular highlights of us. I can honestly say that everyday was incredible, the whole family enjoyed our Bareboat holiday and we would do this again in a heart beat! One piece of advice we were given that rings true ... halve the amount of clothes you think you need and double the booze!

See all the pictures!
Jan - ,
16 Nov 2016
Perry 43 4 Cabin
Stardust

Chartered: 28 Aug 2015


We had a wonderful time sailing the Whitsundays, perfect weather snorkelling, whales it was great!

See all the pictures!
Mischel - EIMEO, QLD
16 Nov 2016
Seawind 1000xl
Mintaka

Chartered: 02 Apr 2015


We had a amazing 6 nights on 'Mintaka' Seawind 1000 Sailing Catamaran at Easter .A huge thank u to Marg and the girls, who were a absolute pleasure to deal with while planning our Bareboat trip.
Also Terry who did our Induction ( Briefing) a huge thank u, top bloke.
We have so many beautiful memories from our  Sailing trip and we will be returning soon.

See all the pictures!
Rosemary - WONGA PARK, VIC
16 Nov 2016
Beneteau 37
Little One

Chartered: 11 Oct 2014


We had our first Bareboat charter 4 years ago. The Cumberland Charter Yachts have welcomed us back six more times since. Every trip different and spectacular. Learnt so much along the way. Thanks folks! You feel like friends looking out for us when we are sailing one of your fantastic yachts. Including.... Treasure, Lazyitis Little One , Trinity Reign. Hanging out for our next holiday.

See all the pictures!
Mark - PADSTOW, NSW Australia
16 Nov 2016
Fairway 36 LJR
The LJR

Chartered: 12 May 2000


Just about to book my 3rd bareboat charter with Cumberland Charter Yachts. ...`95...`99...bring on 2016! Still have great memories of the Tanjoni.
Reference:Facebook review

See all the pictures!
Darren - ,
16 Nov 2016
Beneteau 43
Olivetta

Chartered: 25 Sep 2016


Great time sailing the Whitsundays with Cumberland Charter Yachts on 'OLIVETTA' (Beneteau 43)...very capable  Sailing yacht & handles so well & has heaps of room!!
Reference: Facebook review

See all the pictures!
Peter - TOWNSVILLE, QLD AUSTRALIA
16 Nov 2016
Seawind 1160
XTsea

Chartered: 11 Dec 2013


We have just completed a 7 day bareboat charter with Cumberland Charter Yachts...the service was great....the sailing boat was perfect (Seawind 1160) and we had great weather....the best Xmas present I could ask for !!
Reference:Facebook review

See all the pictures!
Caroline - Currumbin, QLD AUS
16 Nov 2016
Beneteau 37
Little One

Chartered: 31 Oct 2016


Have sailed lots with Cumberland Charter Yachts. Always professional and helpful. Especially lucky to have a great relationship with Dave and can't recommend a holiday on Little One enough!!
Reference:Facebook review

See all the pictures!
Martin - WORONGARY, QUEENSLAND
16 Nov 2016
Seawind 1160
Destiny

Chartered: 09 Oct 2015


My wife and I just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary aboard Destiny part of Cumberland Charter Yachts fleet of Sailing catamarans.
Our special occasion was simply amazing, a trip that will go down in our collective memories as PERFECT. Thank you Cumberland for making our 25th wedding anniversary the best it could possibly be.
And a special thanks to Steve who made our briefing lots of fun and laughs, Terry Kemp who sorted the anchor issue, John the sparky who came to us in atrocious weather to fix the anchor and Deano who did our debrief. You guys are tops.
See you again soon, Marty n Averil
Reference:Facebook review

See all the pictures!
Sarah - WARRADALE, SOUTH AUSTRALIA
16 Nov 2016
Lagoon 40
Whitsunday Dreaming

Chartered: 26 Aug 2016


Have sailed with Cumberland Charter Yachts twice now and both times have been faultless. Great staff and the Bareboats are immaculate. Highly recommend! Can't wait to do it again soon.
Reference: Facebook review

See all the pictures!