Whitsunday Anchorages

Where are the Whitsundays?

The Whitsundays is located 1000km north of Brisbane and 2000km north of Sydney, on the east coast of Australia. It is at the heart of the Great Barrier Reef at about 21 degrees South. The Whitsundays are the traditional home of the Ngaro Aboriginal people. There are 2 airports in the region; Whitsunday Coast Airport (Proserpine) and Hamilton Island (Great Barrier Reef Airport).

The Whitsunday Island Map

The 74 islands of the Whitsunday Island group are mostly un-inhabited National Parks. Less than a dozen are homes to resorts to suit all tastes. Amongst the islands are numerous safe anchorages for you to choose from during your bareboating holiday.

Click on the map markers to discover the anchorage name and information for each area.

Map type: Normal, Satellite


If you need help planning an itinerary try our suggestions here: Itinerary Planner

 Langford Island Reef
 Esk Island Reef
 Sandy Bay
 Sawmill Bay
 Sunlovers Beach
Armit Island
 Armit Island

Border Island
 Cateran Bay

Daydream Island
 Daydream Island Reef

Dumbell Island
 Dumbell Reef

Goldsmith Island
 Goldsmith Island Reef

Hamilton Island
 Hamilton Island Marina
 Hamilton Island Resort

Haslewood Island
 Windy Bay
 Chalkies (Stockyard) Beach

Hayman Island
 The Narrows
 Blue Pearl Bay
 Hayman Island Reef
Henning Island
 Henning Reef

Hook Island
 Manta Ray Bay
 Mackerel Bay
 Pinnacle Bay
 Hook Island Reef- Cairn Beach
 Luncheon Bay
 Nara Inlet
 Saba Bay
 Macona Inlet
 Butterfly Bay
 Caves Cove
 Maureens Cove (Wrasse Bay)
 Refuge Bay
 Nara Inlet (South East Anchorage)
 Butterfly Bay Anchorage 2
 False Nara
Lindeman Island
 Lindeman Resort-Dont Use
 Gap Beach
 Plantation Bay (East)
 Lindeman Island Reef

Long Island
 Happy Bay
 Palm Bay (Resort)

 Double Bay
 Double Bay - West
 Woodwark Bay
 Airlie Beach
 Coral Sea Marina|Resort
 Funnel Bay
 Shute Harbour

Shaw Island
 Roberta Bay
 Burning Point
 Neck Bay (West)
 Billbob Bay

South Molle Island
 Bauer Bay (Paddle Bay)

Thomas Island
 Thomas Reef (No 1)

Whitsunday Island
 Peter Bay
 Beach 25
 Whitehaven Beach South
 Tongue Bay
 Apostle Bay (South)
 Gulnare Inlet
 Cid Harbour
 Turtle Bay (Whitsunday Island)
 Chance Bay
 Mays Bay
 Crayfish Bay
 Dugong Inlet
 More ...
Printable Whitsunday Island Map - PDF
Printable Whitsunday Island Map - HTML